Booking.com has two types of auto-replenishment:
1. The general auto-replenishment feature is integrated by default to all properties on Booking.com and cannot be deactivated. Whenever a cancellation comes through Booking.com, the room is put back on sale automatically to give the property another chance at reselling it.
2. The auto-replenishment on closed rooms means that, if a guest cancels a reservation, Booking.com automatically replenishes the inventory and re-opens the closed room. In normal circumstances, this feature helps properties to sell more, as they can offer maximum availability without having to go into the system to update it manually. To Deactivate this feature you can do so by following these steps;
- Log into your extranet account.
- Click on the Rates & Availability tab
- Go to the Settings symbol on the top-right corner of your Calendar
- Click on Auto-Replenishment
- Under Calendar Settings, click No to turn off the Auto-Replenishment feature
Due to the fact that channel manager does not increase the availability when a cancellation, from any OTA, is picked-up it often is the case that the availability on Booking.com can be higher (out of synch) than the channel manager. Only a pro-active retrigger of availability from the channel manager to Booking.com would overwrite the amount on Booking.com. However, it is possible for the channel manager to automatically trigger a new inventory message on a cancellation.
Under the "Hotel" menu item you get an overview with general hotel information. If you scroll down you'll see the advanced settings. The window will already show the setting “Auto replenishment mode” with a value of “No Action”. Bly clicking on the value, a drop-down box will appear with an additional two options; “On” and “Off”. Any of the three choices can be selected, after which the safe button needs to be clicked. Please find additional information on these options in the following subchapter.
- No action
Everything remains as it currently is. In other words, if a cancellation is picked up by the channel manager the availability will remain unchanged and no message is triggered to any OTA.
When a cancellation is picked up by the channel manager from an OTA the availability is increased in the channel manager. This will trigger a message to all linked OTA’s containing the new, increased, availability.
When a cancellation is picked up by the channel manager from the OTA the availability in the channel manager remains unchanged. A message will be triggered by the channel manager to all linked OTA’s containing the unchanged availability. Any increase done by an OTA will be overwritten with the actual availability in the channel manager.